About

Attach114107_20180501_185633

About Patti:

Hi there and thanks for choosing to read our blog!  My name is Patti Plotner and I’d like to share my unexpected, uncomfortable, scary–yet educational, crazy ass journey with you .  

I was born and raised in Buffalo, NY.  I am the youngest of five and the only girl (tomboy-yes, spoiled-NO).  I met my husband of 25 years in high school. We married in 1993 and moved to Virginia.  That’s where our “daughter” was born. I graduated college in 1993 with a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education.  I became a preschool teacher and loved every minute of it. I love kids–little kids that is. I stayed in that field for 15 years.  After my preschool years I had a great opportunity to become a teacher’s aide and work with children that were severely autistic.

We decided to move back to Buffalo, NY in 2001.  We stayed with my parents for a few months before we found a house and settled in.  It was easy to find schools and it was great to be near family. In 2005 I was diagnosed with a Meningioma brain tumor that was NON MALIGNANT.  Thank God! Within three weeks I was having a full craniotomy and was in the hospital for six days. At this point our child was only eight and in fourth grade.  After this life-changing event I now view life as pre/post tumor.

Currently I am a CMP (certified master pedicurist) and work for a private club in Buffalo.  I also own my own small business and perform geriatric and diabetic foot care.

I participated in a mission trip to Haiti in 2014 and fell in love with Haiti’s people and its culture.  I have returned to Haiti every year since 2014. I have fostered many friendships there. I hold a special place in my heart for Haiti and its people and I simply cannot wait to go back each year.

My hobbies include but are not limited to exercising in many different ways and kayaking with my husband.  

I really wanted to start this blog to give you hope that with open communication and empathy all things are possible.  

About Kameron: 

Although I spent the first four years of my life in Virginia, I have little memory of it. I moved back to my parents’ hometown of Buffalo, NY when I was four, and my life has been here ever since.

Growing up, I enjoyed playing sports such as baseball, ice hockey, soccer, volleyball, and tennis. My true passion, however, was and still is music. I was a percussionist in my high school’s wind ensemble, a drummer in jazz ensemble, a French horn player in symphonic band, and I also drummed in a band with some of my friends for a few years. I still play drums, but I have expanded my musical interests to electric bass, guitar, and ukulele. I am slowly gaining confidence in my singing voice as well—my transition has helped tremendously with that confidence.

I graduated in the spring of 2018 with a Bachelor’s degree in English from the University at Buffalo. Some of my favorite classes were science fiction literature, critical race theory, and early Shakespeare. Right now I am currently a teaching assistant at a school for children with autism. In my spare time I play the drums for a band called Halo Nellie. Music has always been my number one passion and I intend to pursue it for as long as possible.

I own two cockatiels and I share a toy poodle with my mom. I love all my animals equally and I truly enjoy taking care of them and spending time with them.

My other hobbies include photography and videography, reading dystopian novels, playing video games, analyzing television and film, and writing.

I also wanted to create this blog as a resource for people who may be questioning their gender or who want to learn more about what it is like being trans. I am open to questions about my process and I especially want to help transgender youth as they grow into themselves and pave their way to being their full, authentic selves.